University clusters – clarification needed please?

IrelandThe list of university clusters, as proposed by the IUA and reported in the Times, doesn’t make sense as reported in the online edition (because the story proposes 5 clusters, but the list it gives has either 4, 6 or 7 clusters on it depending how you interpret it). The IUA website itself doesn’t help. The Times print edition lists the clusters as follows:

North/West: NUI Galway; Galway-Mayo IT; Sligo IT; Letterkenny IT; St Angela’s College; Shannon College of Hotel Management.

Mid-West: University of Limerick; Limerick Institute of Technology; IT Tralee; Mary Immaculate College of Education; St Patrick’s College Thurles.

South: University College Cork; Cork Institute of Technology; Waterford Institute of Technology; Carlow Institute of Technology.

Dublin /North East/ Midlands: NUI Maynooth; Dublin City University; Royal College of Surgeons; Athlone IT; Dundalk IT; National College of Ireland; St Patrick’s College of Education; All Hallows College; Mater Dei Institute; Church of Ireland College of Education and Froebel College of Education.

Dublin: Trinity College; UCD; Royal Irish Academy of Music; Marino Institute of Education; National College of Art and Design; Institute of Art, Design and Technology Dún Laoghaire; Institute of Public Administration; Institute of Bankers.

Further clarification would be welcome!


  • online version now corrected

  • Many thanks.

  • Where does DIT fit into this?

  • I don’t know – same place as IT Blanchardstown and IT Tallaght, perhaps. If it’s been correctly reported, it doesn’t seem like a very well-thought-out proposal.

    • Perhaps it’s a discrete acknowledgement that the 6th regional cluster is a TU Dublin consisting of the missing IoT’s?

  • That’s all we need … a Bermuda Triangle for IoTs.

Leave a Reply